Video conference of ECOFIN ministers on 4 November 2020

At the meeting of ECOFIN ministers on 4 November 2020, agenda items included the prevention of money laundering and terrorist financing, the action plan to tackle non-performing loans in Europe, the European Fiscal Board’s annual report, the European Semester and the G20 and IMF meetings in October.

#EU2020DE

Doorstep by Olaf Scholz: Video conference of the ECOFIN Council on 4 November 2020

You can view this and all other external content on this website with one click. Activation is saved in a cookie for 30 days. Information stored in cookies can also reach third-party platforms. You can find further information and the option to deactivate cookies in our data protection declaration.

Activate external content

 

 

Combating money laundering and terrorist financing

The ECOFIN ministers discussed the issue of combating money laundering and terrorist financing. Ministers agreed on conclusions setting out the Council’s position on the European Commission’s forthcoming legislative proposals, which are expected in the first quarter of 2021. Focus areas include the extensive harmonisation of provisions based on the EU’s Anti-Money Laundering Directive, the creation of a European anti-money laundering supervisor with direct supervisory powers, and the establishment of a coordination and support mechanism for Financial Intelligence Units. 

Action plan to tackle non-performing loans in Europe

The ECOFIN Council examined progress on the implementation of the action plan to tackle non-performing loans (NPLs) in Europe and discussed the European Commission’s planned NPL strategy. The NPL action plan from 2017 has largely been implemented except for a few elements. Nevertheless, certain EU member states need to make further progress in reducing NPL levels. The European Commission announced that it will present proposals for further measures.

European Fiscal Board’s annual report 

The chair of the European Fiscal Board, Niels Thygesen, presented the board’s annual report. The report examines public finances, the fiscal stance and fiscal policy supervision in the EU in 2019. It also considers how the EU’s fiscal framework can be further developed.

2020 European Semester

The ECOFIN Council agreed on conclusions regarding the European Court of Auditors’ special report on the European Semester. The European Semester is an important instrument for coordinating economic, budgetary and employment policies at the EU level. In its report, the European Court of Auditors states, among other things, that member states need to better implement the European Semester recommendations. It also asserts that clearer explanations are required for why certain reforms should be prioritised over others. The ECOFIN Council also adopted conclusions on the European Commission’s Annual Sustainable Growth Strategy (ASGS). The ASGS emphasises that member states need to base their national plans for economic recovery on the principles of the green transition, digitalisation, fairness and macroeconomic stability.

Review of the G20 and IMF meetings in October

Additionally, German Finance Minister Olaf Scholz, as chair of the ECOFIN Council, and the European Commission briefed ministers on the meeting of the G20 finance ministers and central bank governors and on the annual meetings of the International Monetary Fund (IMF) and the World Bank in October 2020. Discussions focused on the latest developments in deliberations on international tax policy, among other things. In their virtual meeting on 14 October 2020, the G20 finance ministers and central bank governors endorsed an updated action plan which contains a range of important measures for the ongoing response to the coronavirus pandemic and for shaping the global economic recovery. This includes, in particular, a six-month extension of the G20 and Paris Club debt moratorium for the world’s 77 poorest countries until the end of June 2021.

#EU2020DE

ECOFIN Council, 4 November, Press conference with Olaf Scholz

You can view this and all other external content on this website with one click. Activation is saved in a cookie for 30 days. Information stored in cookies can also reach third-party platforms. You can find further information and the option to deactivate cookies in our data protection declaration.

Activate external content

 

 

teaser image

Fair taxation

A fair international tax system will help to finance crisis management measures while simultaneously promoting cohesion.

teaser image

Meeting calendar

Videokonferenz der ECOFIN-Ministerinnen und -Minister vom 4. November 2020

Beim Treffen der ECOFIN-Ministerinnen und -Minister am 4. November 2020 standen unter anderem die Verhinderung von Geldwäsche und Terrorismusfinanzierung, der Aktionsplan zum Abbau notleidender Kredite in Europa, der Jährliche Bericht des Europäischen Fiskalausschusses, das Europäische Semester und das G20- und IWF-Treffen im Oktober auf der Tagesordnung.

#EU2020DE

Doorstep von Olaf Scholz: Videokonferenz Sitzung des ECOFIN-Rats vom 4. November 2020

Sie können sich diesen und alle anderen externen Inhalte auf dieser Webseite mit einem Klick anzeigen lassen. Die Aktivierung wird 30 Tage in einem Cookie gespeichert. In Cookies gespeicherte Angaben können auch an Drittplattformen gelangen. Weitere Informationen und die Möglichkeit zur Deaktivierung von Cookies finden Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung.

Externe Inhalte aktivieren

 

 

Bekämpfung von Geldwäsche und Terrorismusfinanzierung

Die ECOFIN-Ministerinnen und Minister befassten sich mit der Bekämpfung von Geldwäsche und Terrorismusfinanzierung. Es gab eine Einigung auf Ratsschlussfolgerungen, mit denen sich der Rat mit Blick auf den für das erste Quartal 2021 angekündigten Legislativvorschlag der Europäischen Kommission positioniert. Ein Fokus dabei ist eine weitgehende Harmonisierung von Vorschriften aus der Geldwäscherichtlinie sowie die Schaffung einer europäischen Geldwäscheaufsicht mit direkten Aufsichtsbefugnissen und eines Koordinierungs- und Unterstützungsmechanismus für die Zentralstelle für Finanztransaktionsuntersuchungen (Financial Intelligence Unit). 

Aktionsplan zum Abbau notleidender Kredite in Europa

Der ECOFIN-Rat befasste sich auch mit den Fortschritten bei der Umsetzung des Aktionsplans zum Abbau notleidender Kredite in Europa (NPL) und der geplanten NPL-Strategie der Europäischen Kommission. Der NPL-Aktionsplan aus dem Jahr 2017 ist bis auf wenige Elemente umgesetzt. Dennoch sind weitere Fortschritte beim Abbau von NPL-Beständen in einzelnen Mitgliedstaaten erforderlich. Die Europäische Kommission kündigte Vorschläge für weitere Maßnahmen an.

Jährlicher Bericht des Europäischen Fiskalausschusses

Des Weiteren stellte der Vorsitzende des Europäischen Fiskalrates, Niels Thygesen, seinen Jahresbericht vor. Der Bericht betrachtet die Entwicklung der öffentlichen Finanzen, der fiskalpolitischen Ausrichtung sowie der finanzpolitischen Überwachung in Europa in 2019. Darüber hinaus enthält er Überlegungen zur Weiterentwicklung des fiskalischen Rahmenwerks.

Europäisches Semester 2020

Zudem wurden Ratsschlussfolgerungen zum Bericht des Europäischen Rechnungshofes zum Europäischen Semester konsentiert. Das Europäische Semester ist ein wichtiges Instrument der wirtschafts-, haushalts- und beschäftigungspolitischen Koordinierung auf EU-Ebene. Die Empfehlungen des Rechnungshofes umfassen unter anderem die Notwendigkeit der besseren Umsetzung der Empfehlungen durch die Mitgliedstaaten und einer klareren Begründung für die Priorisierung von Reformen. Ferner verständigte sich der Rat auf Schlussfolgerungen zur Annual Sustainable Growth Strategy der Europäischen Kommission. Die Wachstumsstrategie betont, dass sich die Mitgliedstaaten in ihren nationalen Plänen für die wirtschaftliche Erholung an den Prinzipien ökologischer Wandel, Digitalisierung, Fairness und makroökonomische Stabilität orientieren sollen.

Rückblick auf G20- und IWF-Treffen im Oktober

Außerdem berichtete der Bundesminister der Finanzen als Vorsitzender des ECOFIN-Rates und die Europäische Kommission über das Treffen der G20-Finanzministerinnen und -Finanzminister und Notenbankgouverneurinnen und -gouverneure sowie die jährlichen Treffen des Internationalen Währungsfonds (IWF) und der Weltbank im Oktober 2020. Ein Schwerpunkt der Diskussion waren die Entwicklungen in der internationalen Steuerdiskussion. Des Weiteren wurde beim G20-Treffen am 14. Oktober 2020 ein aktualisierter Aktionsplan mit einer Reihe wichtiger Maßnahmen zur fortgehenden Bewältigung der COVID-19-Pandemie und Gestaltung der weltwirtschaftlichen Erholung verabschiedet. Dazu zählt insbesondere die Verlängerung des G20- und Paris-Club-Schuldenmoratoriums für die 77 ärmsten Länder um ein halbes Jahr bis Ende Juni 2021.

#EU2020DE

Pressekonferenz mit Olaf Scholz: Videokonferenz zur Sitzung des ECOFIN-Rats vom 04. November 2020

Sie können sich diesen und alle anderen externen Inhalte auf dieser Webseite mit einem Klick anzeigen lassen. Die Aktivierung wird 30 Tage in einem Cookie gespeichert. In Cookies gespeicherte Angaben können auch an Drittplattformen gelangen. Weitere Informationen und die Möglichkeit zur Deaktivierung von Cookies finden Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung.

Externe Inhalte aktivieren

 

 

teaser image

Faire Besteuerung

Ein faires internationales Steuersystem trägt zur Finanzierung der Krisenbewältigung bei und sorgt für Zusammenhalt.

teaser image

Termine zur EU Ratspräsidentschaft